Why I Love Orange – Part 1

3 Nov

To be honest, I can’t really remember why my fascination with orange began.  I know it was sometime early in high school.  Up until then, my favorite color was blue (aka the favorite color of people who don’t have a favorite color).  Somehow, I became obsessed with orange, and it has stuck with me every since.  To the point where all my close friends (and probably a few not-so-close friends and acquaintances) know of my obsession – the orange party favors are always saved for me, and when we go shopping they point out every piece of orange clothing or jewelry to me.

At this point, I’m not sure whether I love certain things because they are orange, or whether I love orange because I love certain things.  However there are definitely a few things that I would love in any color, but which happen to be orange – which, incidentally, is why I chose the name “she loves orange” for my blog.  And so without further ado, here is the first of those things:

My alma mater – The University of Texas!  Man I love this school.  I may be a little biased, but just picture the best school ever in the most awesome city ever, and you’ve got UT.  And conveniently, the school color is a beautiful (burnt) orange!  Here are a few more visual representations of the awesomeness of UT, and my love for it.

The iconic UT Tower, lit up for a national championship, in the background, and Littlefield Fountain in the foreground.

The image above of the best moment in sports history (my humble opinion of course) comes from McCombs Today, and I love the quote that goes along with it so much, I had to include it here:

“In the locker room after the [2005 football] national championship, with 120 kids crying, celebrating,” said Dodds, “[I remember] Mack Brown calming them down and saying, ‘Do not let this be the best thing that’s happened to you in your life. You’re going to have a wife, you’re going to have a job, you’re going to have kids.’ And that just, in my mind, set athletics where it should be. And that’s about kids.”

Actually, my whole family is pretty crazy about Texas.  Our faces are pretty much all terrible but I love this photo anyway.

One Response to “Why I Love Orange – Part 1”

  1. Gail-Tzipporah Saunders December 9, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    You look good in orange and I believe you are an autumn. That’s why you like orange.

Leave a Reply

