My Weekend (via Instagram)

15 Nov

One of the first things I did this weekend was finally download the Instagram app on my iPhone.  I’d heard a lot about this (or rather, seen everyone’s photos), but I hadn’t gotten in on the craze until Friday.  So of course I decided to jump right in.  Here’s a summary of what I did this weekend, as told by my Instagram photos.

The hubby was out of town (Vegas for a bachelor party – lucky) so it was just me and Sebastian.  He was pretty excited about that fact:

Lazy kitty

So naturally, I did some shopping.  Remember I mentioned the sweet coupon I had for World Market?  Yeah I definitely took advantage of that:

My loot - all 10% off!

I got a fun candle holder, some taper candles, Christmas ornaments (notice one that looks like a certain lazy kitty?) and some sesame oil and allspice.  Naturally.  You’ll see where those two came in handy in just a sec.  Here’s my new favorite ornament though:

It's a pickle!

Has anyone else heard of the German tradition of hiding a pickle ornament on the Christmas tree?  Supposedly the first child to find the pickle on Christmas morning got an extra present.  I had heard of this and decided I wanted a pickle for my tree.  However, I actually did some research, and it seems that this “tradition” is actually just a myth.  Oh well.  I love pickles so I still love my new ornament.

The rest of my weekend consisted of a lot of cooking/baking.  I wanted to try out a couple of recipes I found on Pinterest.  So first I made some Spicy Thai Noodles:

Spicy Thai Noodles

I got the recipe from this blog.  Now you know why I picked up some sesame oil at World Market.  The noodles were delicious!  Both hot (Friday dinner) and cold (Saturday lunch) 🙂

Saturday morning I did a little baking.

Pumpkin Spice Muffins

I got this recipe here.  They were supposed to be mini muffins, but I didn’t have a mini-muffin tin, so I just made them regular sized.  They were pretty good – not too sweet, so I didn’t feel gross having a couple for breakfast.  (This is where I used the allspice!)

I only used half a can of pumpkin for the muffins, so I decided to use the rest for dinner and make some pumpkin soup:

Pumpkin Soup

I know pumpkin soup sounds a little weird, but it was actually really tasty.  I just found an easy recipe online and tweaked it slightly.

That’s it for my weekend in photos!  Not terribly exciting, but sometimes a quiet and relaxing weekend is just what I need.

Anyone else try out some new recipes this weekend?  Or find a fun new Christmas ornament?

One Response to “My Weekend (via Instagram)”

  1. rsmithing November 16, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    Hey there – I came across your post in doing some research on Instagram, and I gotta say, nice pics! You also have some excellent feline models. You might be interested in a post I did recently on Instagram tips at http://wp.me/p1UhOK-26 – I’d welcome your thoughts in the comments if you’d care to share. Keep Instagramming!

Leave a Reply

