We Have Power!

21 Nov

I never thought I’d be so excited to turn on a light. After all the electricity drama we had (power surges due to a bad wiring situation which we had to pay big money to have fixed, which I talked about here and here) we finally had our power reconnected with everything fixed on Saturday around 12:30pm.

The electrician was able to get started on the wire replacement on Thursday. I had to call CenterPoint at 7am to submit a request for them to disconnect our power, which would take up to 4 hours. So, at around 11am I called to check on the status, and was told it had been completed. I communicated this to to electrician, who called me back 30 minutes later to say that they were at the house, and it still had power. Grr. So I had to call CenterPoint again and re-request the disconnect, which was finally completed around 3pm. So of course, the electrician was not finished with the repair that evening. Fine, one night without power, no big deal. I stayed at my parents’ house in Katy, but Jon toughed it out without electricity because he was at work pretty late and had to be there early on Friday.

I called the electrician a couple of times on Friday to check on things, and finally around 5pm he said everything was finished, they were just waiting on the inspector to come and approve everything and then CenterPoint could come and reconnect the power. That happened pretty quickly, so just before 6pm I called CenterPoint to submit the reconnect order. The lady I spoke to (for the third time that week) said that they would do their best to get out to our house that night, but they ‘had to cut it off at some point’ (even though a different person had told me they do reconnects 24hrs a day) and if they didn’t come Friday night, they’d be there first thing Saturday.

I assumed she was just telling me what I wanted to hear – surely there was no way they’d make it out on Friday night. And she didn’t say anything about someone needing to be home anyway (no one needed to be home for the disconnect), so Jon and I went out to dinner. About 9:15 Jon’s phone rings – it was a CenterPoint tech, at our house, needing us to let him in to access the breaker box. We probably should have left to let him in, but it had been a long week and we’d just gotten our food. So we said sorry, can you come back tomorrow? “Yes but you’ll have to call tomorrow to submit a service request again.” Double grrr.

So Saturday morning we woke up at 7am to call CenterPoint to re-submit a reconnect request. When we finally got a hold of someone, they told us (again) that they’d do their best to have someone come out that day, but since they had fewer people working on the weekends there was a good chance it wouldn’t happen. For heaven’s sake. I was so frustrated at this point, especially since I’d been told a different story from every person I’d talked to at CenterPoint. Not to mention we’d now been without power for going on three days, and we had to be somewhere (and I had to cook something to bring with us). So I went out to my parents house to cook while Jon waited impatiently for CenterPoint to maybe show up.

Luckily, they did, and just in time. They got everything reconnected, and we have power again. It’s such a relief to be able to turn on more than 2 lights at one time, AND the TV too! We’ve checked pretty much all the electronics, and it seems the only casualties of all the power surges were our dishwasher and our little wine fridge. The dishwasher should be covered under our home warranty, and we’re hoping to claim the wine fridge with our homeowner’s insurance (and possibly the cost of the repair too). We’ll see if that works.

Wow, sorry for the long post, I meant for this to be a quick update! But it was such a frustrating process, guess I had to vent a little. 😉 Hope no one else is experiencing any of these issues. Anyone have experience claiming repairs with vague causes like this through homeowner’s insurance?

Leave a Reply

