Exercising My Right Brain

5 Dec

 

I may be a lot of things, but artistic is not really one of them. I wish I was more artsy, but I’m just more left-brained – more logical than creative. But I really needed something to hang on the wall above my bed, and I finally decided that it would be fun to paint something myself. I had something pretty basic in mind, just some branches and leaves to keep it simple. Luckily one of my mom’s good friends is an artist and she gave me a mini painting lesson. Otherwise this little project probably would have ended in disaster.

Anyway, I had bought two large canvases at Hobby Lobby, so I made a few attempts at sketching on paper what I wanted to paint. I ended up with this:

20111205-132726.jpg

I wanted the two canvases to work together and separately, and I think I accomplished that with my design. So the first step was to paint the background. I wanted a blended background, not all one color. So I used white, gold, and beige to mix various colors and blended them all on the canvas to get this:

20111205-131147.jpg

The color didn’t come out exactly as I’d envisioned, but I was really pleased with the blend of shades.  And this part was really fun – no lines to stay within. 🙂

Here’s a shot of all my supplies, post background-painting:

20111205-131158.jpg

I definitely meant to take a photo of each step, but I got really into it and forgot. Oops. So after I painted the background, I drew on my design using charcoal. That was probably the hardest part, to get it to look like my sketch. After that, I painted the branches, which is where I ran into a bit of a color problem. The branches were supposed to be a dark gray color. But when I mixed my colors like my “art teacher” showed me, they did not make gray. They made a brownish-purple color. No matter what other colors I added, I couldn’t get gray, so I gave up. I decided to go with the brownish-purple, and it actually worked out ok. After the branches I painted the leaves, a lighter purple. Here’s when I remembered to take another photo:

20111205-131209.jpg

And here’s the final product, hanging above the bed:

20111205-131228.jpg

By the way, all of these photos were taken with my iPhone, so sorry for the poor quality.

I’m pretty pleased with the end result, even though it’s not really what I originally envisioned. It definitely makes our bedroom look a little less sad! And it was actually really fun – I may even do some more painting soon.

3 Responses to “Exercising My Right Brain”

  1. Joey Harvey December 5, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    nice. and it matches. and its purple 🙂

    • Samantha December 5, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

      Very observant. 😉 And thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Painting Part Two « she loves orange - April 13, 2012

    […] my first (pretty successful) attempt at painting – described here – I figured since I’d bought all that paint, I might as well get some more use out of […]

Leave a Reply

