What’s Your Ornament Philosophy?

12 Dec

We had some friends over the other night and we got to talking about our Christmas tree, or more specifically, our Christmas tree ornaments. Someone commented on one of them, and I told them its “story.” See, pretty much all of my ornaments have a story – where it came from, how I got it, what it means to me. I know a lot of people have themed Christmas trees, like all one or two colors, and even change up the theme every year. And that can be really cool, and look great, but it’s just not my thing.

A bunch of my ornaments came from my grandparents. Growing up, they gave me and each of my brothers each an ornament every year. So I have about 23 ornaments from them (they stopped this tradition a few years ago, guess we got too old!), and a lot of them are labelled with the year so I know when I got it. And yes, most of them are kinda cheesy (Santa in a fire truck, Tigger, etc.) but I still like them.

20111212-100605.jpg

Ornament from my Grandparents

My other favorite ornaments come from places I have traveled. Jon and I have started a tradition of picking up a Christmas ornament anytime we go on vacation. I think it’s the best kind of souvenir. And we’ve found some really great ones.

20111212-101010.jpg

Bought on our engagement trip to Wyoming

20111212-101043.jpg

Bought on our honeymoon in Turks & Caicos

20111212-101055.jpg

Bought on our recent trip to Austria

And then there are those ornaments that were gifts from others, or that I purchased myself, but either way, they all have some kind of story.

20111212-101104.jpg

Gift from my aunt from Louisiana

20111212-101116.jpg

Bought at The Nutcracker Market

So, what about you? Do you go for the themed Christmas tree? Or an eclectic variety like me? Do your ornaments have stories? Would love to hear them!

2 Responses to “What’s Your Ornament Philosophy?”

  1. Pamela @ Pink Hammers & Sippy Cups December 16, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Finally! Another person who does not believe in switching up the Christmas tree every year! I’m a classic red and green girl; I think for as long as I shall live I will always love red and green Christmas’s lol. Eventually I might add in a few other colors or hues, but those will always be my base. It’s not Christmas to me if there isn’t red and green. Also, while I do like to craft a few new ornaments each year I love nothing more than pulling out all the old, cherished ornaments from storage and reminiscing on memories past.

    • Samantha December 16, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

      I totally agree! My base is always red, green and gold. Those are the only color ornaments I buy for myself.

Leave a Reply

