Titles Are Hard

4 Jan

I just sat here staring at my screen for five minutes trying to figure out what to type in the Title section of this post. How am I supposed to come up with a title for every post? Especially when most of my posts are random and rambling. For example, today I was planning to post about a delicious recipe I made for dinner last night, a funny photo I saw on Facebook, and a complaint about the latest Les Mis movie casting news. How on earth am I supposed to come up with a title for all of that??

Anyway, moving on…

Last night, I made these for dinner:

Image courtesy of thepioneerwoman.com

Spicy Whiskey BBQ Sliders. Please note, that is NOT my photo. That is The Pioneer Woman’s amazing photo. Although my sliders did look that tasty, if not quite as pretty.

I saw this recipe the other day and pinned it to Pinterest, and when I went to the grocery store after work yesterday I decided I had to make them. And they were glorious. I forgot to buy jarred jalapenos, so I just added a good amount of jalapeno Tabasco, which worked pretty well – it gave the whole sauce some spice without having chunks that made some bites spicier than others. Oh and I used ground turkey instead of bison, to be healthier (plus, I doubt they sell bison at Kroger.. but who knows). And I halved the recipe cause it was just me and Jon. But yeah, did I mention they were delicious? And one more time just to be sure, all the recipe credit goes to The Pioneer Woman, and you can find the recipe here.

Next up: I came across this image on Facebook today and found it hilarious.

Image courtesy of George Takei's Facebook page

Sorry if I offend any Twilight fans by sharing this, but come on, you have to admit it’s funny. I have not actually read any of the books (despite numerous attempts by several friends to convince me), although I have seen the movies. But at least one person who has read all the books has told me that the writing is awful. So, there ya go.

And finally.. Les Mis. One of my favorite musicals of all time (along with Wicked). Seriously, I’ve seen it 5 times and it never gets old. So naturally I was pretty excited to hear they’re making a new movie musical version, with an all-star cast. First came Hugh Jackman as Jean Valjean, and Russel Crowe as Javert. Pretty sure Sacha Baron Cohen and Helena Bonham Carter will be hilarious as the Thenardiers. And then came one of the most important roles of all – definitely the most important female role – Eponine. One of my favorite songs from the movie is hers – On My Own. Amazing. But it definitely won’t be so amazing when it’s sung by…….. Taylor. Swift. UGH!

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t really have anything against Taylor Swift. She’s cute, likable, her songs are catchy and fun (if not particularly impressive). But she can NOT act (hello, Valentine’s Day?), and she really can NOT sing. Not when you’re talking about musical theater singing.

I can’t understand why they offered her the role. Especially when Lea Michele was also under consideration.. surely she must have turned it down first, why on earth would they pick Taylor Swift over a proven Broadway actress who also has current pop-culture cred (Glee, while terrible, is still huge). There’s only one explanation – maybe they’re going for a musical comedy, as this article sarcastically suggests.

Alright, that’s enough venting for now. Anyone else with me on this? Or have other views? Any offended Twilight fans? Will anyone still see the Les Mis movie with Taylor Swift?

4 Responses to “Titles Are Hard”

  1. Joey Harvey January 4, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    am i the only person who reads this?

    • Samantha January 4, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

      Probably! Thanks for being my blog’s biggest fan! 🙂

  2. rsmithing January 4, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    I’m with ya on the titles thing. They’re sometimes elusive but always important. Also, I am typing this with my elbows.

Leave a Reply

