Monday Musings

16 Jan

1. Happy Martin Luther King Day. I hope you’re lucky enough to have the day off, ’cause I’m not. Wah.

2. Note to self: next time you go to yoga, remember to take off your mascara beforehand. Mascara + an hour of sweating and wiping your face on a towel = scary monster face.

3. Jon and I woke up before 7am on Saturday and went downtown to watch the Olympic marathon trials. It was pretty cool, despite the 30-something degree temperature. Not every day you get to watch Olympians run around downtown Houston.

The top 3 finishers - but in opposite order

4. I discovered a new TV show obsession yesterday – Downton Abbey. I’d heard a lot about it lately (all good things) and then a friend told me it was available on Netflix streaming, so that sealed the deal. I started the first episode of season 1 yesterday afternoon and ended up skipping the Golden Globes to watch episodes 2 and 3. Now all I want to do is go home and watch the rest.

5. I also watched the Netflix DVD we had this weekend – Almost Famous. Jon couldn’t believe I’d put that in our queue, because he’s seen it a million times, but I had never seen it. Now I can’t believe it took me so long! It was so good! It was really fun to see how many people were in it who are more famous now than when it was filmed (2000) – Zooey Deschanel, Eric Stonestreet, Rainn Wilson, Anna Paquin, even Nick Swardson had a split-second one-liner.

6. I promise I didn’t just watch movies/TV all weekend, but I also watched Crazy, Stupid, Love which I thought was really cute.

7. We finally had brunch at Tiny Boxwood’s!! And it actually lived up to my expectations – it was amazing. Especially the chocolate chip cookies – absolute heaven.

That’s it for today – Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

