Monday Musings – A Slew of Reviews

23 Jan

Happy Monday! Here are some things I did this weekend:

1. Friday Happy Hour at Hughes Hangar with friends. Review – loved it. Cool vibe, huge awesome patio, great drinks, good apps. Only complaint is that they were pretty slow, but then again it was our waitress’ first day, so I’ll cut her some slack.

2. Joshua Bell recital at Jones Hall. I happened to find discount tickets ($20 each for great seats) online last week, and I had randomly heard of Joshua Bell from this article, which I found fascinating, so I thought it would be a fun, cultural thing to do. You might be surprised that Jon agreed to go, but he’s played the piano for years, and used to play the cello too, so he’s actually a fan of classical music. Review – we both enjoyed it, although we both had some trouble staying awake after happy hour. I mean, he’s amazing at the violin, but it was still just him, another guy, a violin and a piano. That’s it. For two hours. You try to stay awake after a long day at work and two cocktails.

3. Saturday brunch at Down House in the Heights. Review – we liked it. Some friends recommended this place for brunch, and I’d heard a lot about it, and it lived up to expectations. Great brunch cocktails, yummy food, and really reasonable prices. As in, the two of us got out of there for $30 total which included two meals and two drinks. I also liked the atmosphere and it seems like it would be a fun happy hour or evening hang out as well.

4. Saw Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, finally. I read all three books, so I really wanted to see the movie, although those who said it was intensely graphic were in fact correct. It was painfully graphic at a few parts. Review – overall I liked it a lot. I think it did the book justice, and it was very fast-paced and interesting. Following the book too closely could’ve made it slow (and 8 hours long), but David Fincher avoided that while still including all the important parts.

5. Made dinner last night – meatloaf and brussels sprouts. I know, 8-year-old you just gagged a little. But it was actually really good! I found a healthy recipe for meatloaf (using ground turkey and lots of veggies) and I pan roasted the brussels sprouts with bacon. Can’t go wrong with bacon. And Jon loooves brussels sprouts, so the meal was a hit.

6. Other things I did this weekend – watched more Downton Abbey (so glad PBS has the second season streaming online), went to a yoga class, hung out with my mom while she helped me fix my living room curtains – they now hang all the way to the floor! I’ll have to post photos soon.

Old shot of the curtains hanging 3 inches above the floor

2 Responses to “Monday Musings – A Slew of Reviews”

  1. Joey Harvey January 23, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    did you cook the brussels sprouts in the cast iron skillet???

    • Samantha January 23, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

      Haha dang it, I did not, but that would’ve been a good idea! I do use it pretty often though!

Leave a Reply

