Tissue Poms – A Pinterest Challenge

14 Mar

As I mentioned last week in this post, I decided to finally participate in The Pinterest Challenge, “hosted” by my fave bloggers Sherry and Katie. So without further ado…

My plan was to create some cute pink and yellow tissue poms to use for my sister-in-law’s baby shower that I hosted this past Saturday. Here are a couple of my pins that inspired the project:

Source: marthastewart.com via Samantha on Pinterest

Let me just say right off the bat… these did not exactly come out like the photos. I still don’t know what I did wrong, but my poms did not come out full and round. They came out more like.. well, half rounded. See?

But they still looked cute with all the other pink and yellow decorations we had going on. And I was pretty pleased with myself for making them work, despite having some wonky tissue paper, and none of the other required supplies according to Martha’s directions. That’s right, I actually disobeyed Martha Stewart and used staples instead of floral wire. But really, who has floral wire just lying around the house?? Not me.

Anyway, here’s the basic process:

Lay several sheets of tissue paper on top of each other – I used 6 to 10 depending on how many came in a pack.

Fold them back and forth, accordion style, with about 1.5 inch folds. Crease well.

Find the middle of the folded stack.

Here’s where I ignored Martha – she used floral wire to wrap the middle, I used staples. Hey, in the end it worked ok.

Cut the two edges in a rounded shape (important to make the finished product look flower-like).

Separate one layer at a time from the center. I think I figured out that it works better if you alternate sides as you separate.

Once all the layers are separated – ta-da! Finished product. Like I said, mine all turned out sort of flat on the bottom, but they looked great just sitting on a flat surface. Sort of like water lilies I guess.

 As you can see, Sebastian was helping me.

I did end up hanging some of them, as you saw above, but sadly I don’t have any photos to show how I did that. I didn’t plan ahead, so the only way I could figure out how to insert a hanging apparatus was to use a sewing needle and thread. I just threaded the middle of the pom on the bottom and made a loop of thread. If I’d planned better, I would have tied some sort of thread or wire onto the pom from the beginning (when I stapled it).

And here are some gratuitous baby shower photos. I LOVED how everything turned out. Pretty much exactly like the Pinterest board I used for inspiration!

That’s all for me! Don’t forget to check out the other Pinterest Challenge reveals at Young House Love, Bower Power,  The Great Indoors, and Hi Sugarplum – and all the other projects that are linked up to those posts! I’m off to do that now!

Just a reminder, this is not actually sponsored by Pinterest or anything. It’s just for fun!

3 Responses to “Tissue Poms – A Pinterest Challenge”

  1. Erin @ The Great Indoors March 21, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    I’ve made a ton of these, and I might suggest either using more tissues for a bigger pom or using the same number of tissues but cutting them smaller. That might solve the half-pom issue you had this time. I actually just use string instead of floral wire, so I’m right there with you on the staples!

    I love the colors you chose for the poms and the beautiful spread! It makes my mouth water! Thanks for linking up with the Winter Pinterest Challenge!

    Erin

    • Samantha March 21, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

      Great tips, I’ll have to try that next time! Thanks!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Painting Part Two « she loves orange - April 13, 2012

    […] After my first (pretty successful) attempt at painting – described here – I figured since I’d bought all that paint, I might as well get some more use out of it.  So I picked up a couple of small 11″ x 14″ canvases and decided to paint something for my future niece, Evelyn Rose (who is scheduled to arrive in 3 weeks!!).  I’d seen some of the things my sister-in-law Amy had picked out for the nursery (she’s going for a colorful shabby chic look) so I tried to stick with the theme.  I didn’t do anything too impressive, but I’m especially pleased with the first one, which I gave to Chris and Amy at their baby shower. […]

Leave a Reply

