Painting Part Two

13 Apr

After my first (pretty successful) attempt at painting – described here – I figured since I’d bought all that paint, I might as well get some more use out of it.  So I picked up a couple of small 11″ x 14″ canvases and decided to paint something for my future niece, Evelyn Rose (who is scheduled to arrive in 3 weeks!!).  I’d seen some of the things my sister-in-law Amy had picked out for the nursery (she’s going for a colorful shabby chic look) so I tried to stick with the theme.  I didn’t do anything too impressive, but I’m especially pleased with the first one, which I gave to Chris and Amy at their baby shower.

Pretty cute right?  It was fun to paint, too.  For the second canvas, I wanted to do something a little different.  I decided to paint one of my favorite quotes (by one of my favorite people), which I thought would be great for a little girl’s room.  It’s never to early to start building up positive feminine values, right?

This one was quite tedious to paint, but I still enjoyed it.  There’s just one thing that bothers me about it, that almost makes me want to redo the whole thing: if I had rearranged a couple of the lines of text, I could have easily made the overall shape into a letter ‘E’ – for Evelyn!  I’m so kicking myself that I didn’t think of that, but it never occurred to me until I actually took this picture and looked at it. So close!!

Oh well, hopefully Evelyn likes it anyway.  And her parents, too – they actually haven’t seen this one yet.

Now, what should I paint next??

Leave a Reply

