I’m Swearing Off Grass

16 May

Oh, hey!  It’s been a while… I know.  I’m terrible at updating this thing.  There are just so many other things that take up all of my time, you know?  Anyway, here I am.  Oh and don’t worry.. I’m not talking about that kind of grass. I’m talking about this kind of grass:

I hate you, grass!

Ok, here’s why.  So yesterday I got tested for allergies for the first time.  I never had allergy problems growing up, but in the last 4 years or so I have developed allergy problems that have gotten worse every year.  Starting in February this year, I was taking allergy medicine every day just to not be completely miserable, and then I started having to up the dose as time went on.  First I was taking one 24-hour Claritin each morning, and I was fine all day and night.  Then I started waking up early in the morning all congested and sneezy, so I started taking one Benadryl before bed to help me sleep through the night.  Then I had to up it to two Benadryl.  At that point I started to feel like a drug user, so I went to see an allergist.  He gave me a prescription for a nose spray (Nasonex, but I had to switch to Flonase since my insurance wouldn’t cover Nasonex) that has worked wonders, but he also suggested getting tested to determine what exactly I’m allergic to.  But I had to be off antihistamines for 5 days before the test, so we put it off until yesterday.

Anyway, so yesterday I was at the doctor’s office for a couple of hours while they poked 50 tiny needles in my back and then another 20 or so in my arm.  Let me tell you, that was fun!  And the best part was, whatever little needles I was allergic to gave me big red itchy welts.  Awesome.  And in the end, it didn’t really change anything.  My nose spray has been pretty much working wonders, since I haven’t had any symptoms since I started using it.  But I guess it’s fun to know that I’m specifically allergic to oak and mulberry pollen, a few molds and weeds, and ALL grasses.  Seriously, I’m staying away from grass.  Oh, and apparently I’m allergic to dogs!!!  Which is a huge bummer, except that the doctor said it could be a false positive, and that I should just be sure to spend time around dogs to make sure before I ever get one.

My arm actually still looks pretty traumatized today from the shots there.  I have a bunch of red welts/spots arranged in three rows – it looks like I was attached by a very organized group of ants.  I did take a picture, but I’ll spare you since it’s not very pretty.  Instead, here’s a picture of something that is VERY pretty – my brand new baby NIECE!!!! 🙂

Evelyn Rose

Most beautiful baby ever, am I right?  Ok, maybe I’m just a little biased.  Jon and I went to Austin this past weekend to meet her, and I miss her already!!  She is so sweet and cute and tiny!

Ok, that is all for now.  Hopefully I’ll be back more regularly (yeah, right) with more updates – probably focused on Evelyn, let’s be honest.  🙂

Leave a Reply

