Nightstand Makeover

12 Sep

This past weekend, my mom and I went thrift store shopping, and I found a fun old nightstand and decided it needed to come home with me. It was charming, but in rough shape.

Image

 

IMG_2345

So the next day I dragged my darling husband to Home Depot, and bought a bunch of supplies. I wanted a white nightstand, but with something extra, so I thought I would paint the drawers gray. But I ran out of energy before finding a tester-size gray paint, so I gave up and decided to go all white.

First I sanded, then tried my best to fill in some of the larger holes/scratches with wood filler. (By the way, I didn’t really know what I was doing at any point during this project. I asked Google for help and it gave me this tutorial, which I mostly followed.)

ImageThen I broke out the primer, and lo and behold – it was gray! Pretty much the exact color gray I wanted to paint the drawers. So, that worked out pretty well.

IMG_2358

While waiting for each coat to dry (I did one coat of primer and two of paint on the base, and three coats of primer on the drawers), I cleaned and spray painted the hardware oil rubbed bronze.

IMG_2360

Aren’t the little lions so fun?

Anyway so after a whoooole day (I mean really, this project took me from noon to 7pm on Sunday, plus a little more time later spraying a protective poly coat)… it was finally finished. 🙂

I have to admit, I’m kinda proud of myself.

IMG_2387

You can definitely still see a lot of the flaws, but I’m ok with that. It’s not brand new, so I don’t need it to look like it is. It has character!

IMG_2388

So, there you have it. I’m planning to look for another nightstand with similar character for the other side of the bed, and I plan to paint it the same way to tie them together.

One other bonus from this project? While I was having a great time working away on this baby, Jon was inside watching all the football he could possibly want. I wasn’t nagging him about it, and I didn’t have to watch any football. That’s what I call Win-Win-Win-Win!

2 Responses to “Nightstand Makeover”

  1. mary November 21, 2014 at 1:24 pm #

    Good job on the restoration. But, your entire room is gray. The headboard, the comforter, the walls, and now the nightstand. You need to mix & match the colors a little. Nothing pops. All comes off as very drab.

    • Samantha November 21, 2014 at 1:38 pm #

      Thanks for the helpful tip… however you can’t see the whole room in these pics. And it’s hard to tell (my poor photography skills to blame) but the walls are actually blue.

Leave a Reply

